School Resource Officers Now in Every School

SRO Boyle County Schools

DANVILLE, KY – August 25, 2022 – In collaboration with the Boyle County Sheriff's office, the fiscal court and Board of Education, the district now has five school resource officers (SRO). This is an increase from previous years, allowing every school building to have an officer specifically assigned to them.

In 2018 the district had one SRO to cover the entire district. A school safety plan was created and outlined an aggressive timeline to increase that number to three. In addition, the district has worked with the cities of Junction City and Perryville to have a local police presence for arrival and dismissal times.

“We are thrilled to offer two additional SRO’s for Boyle County Schools,” said Board Chair Jennifer Newby.“ These community agencies working together with our board helps ensure the safety for all our students.”

Earlier this month, House bill 63 mandated for all schools to have an SRO assigned to every campus in a district. Since 2018, Boyle County has met this minimum requirement with three SRO’s covering Junction City Elementary, Perryville Elementary and the main campus (servicing Boyle County High School, Boyle County Middle School and Woodlawn Elementary). Sheriff Derek Robbins brought the idea of hiring 5 SRO’s to the district and fiscal court this summer. The funding was approved at last week’s Boyle County Board of Education meeting and the fiscal court approved the plan on Tuesday.

“It was important for us to come together for our number one resource: Students. The additional SRO’s shows a commitment to ensuring students are safe and will act as a deterrent should anyone think about doing something bad,” said Jude Executive Howard Hunt.

Back to School News       Print